How can I forsake now the utterance of Thy Name?

Nama Article 19th July 2013

 

Sant Raidas

अब कैसे छुटै नाम रट लागी ॥टेक॥

प्रभु जी तुम चंदन हम पानी। जाकी अंग-अंग बास समानी॥

प्रभु जी तुम घन बन हम मोरा। जैसे चितवत चंद चकोरा॥

प्रभु जी तुम दीपक हम बाती। जाकी जोति बरै दिन राती॥

प्रभु जी तुम मोती हम धागा। जैसे सोनहिं मिलत सोहागा।

प्रभु जी तुम स्वामी हम दासा। ऐसी भक्ति करै रैदासा॥

 

Translation by Swami Sivananda of the song by Sant Raidas

 

How can I forsake now the utterance of Thy Name?

Thou art, O Lord, as the sandal-wood, and I am like water: Thine odour permeates every particle of my body.

O Lord, Thou art like a dense forest, – while I am like a peacock. I fix my gaze on Thee, even as the Chakora – fixes its gaze on the moon.

O Lord, Thou art like a Lamp, and I am like a wick, – which burns out of its flame day and night. Thou art, O Lord, like a pearl, – and I am just a thread that strings it. We mix together as gold mixes with borax.

Thou art the Master, O Lord, I am Thy servant. Such is the devotion which Raidas offers Thee.

 

Swami Sivananda adds

Who cares, what one's caste or calling may be? He who prays unto Hari, is by Hari claimed as His own.

 

Chant the Mahamantra Nama kirtan :

 

Hare Rama Hare Rama Rama Rama Hare Hare
Hare Krishna Hare Krishna Krishna Krishna Hare Hare

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment